2023 Planning Committee

We gratefully acknowledge the insights and time of the planning committee members, proposal reviewers, and Metcalf Institute staff and assistants.


Michael Bare


Michael Bare

Director of Communications, Communities United for Restorative Youth Justice (CURYJ)



Ivel Gontan


Ivel Gontan

REVISE Center Manager
Reimagining Equity and Values in Informal Stem Education Center



Ana Maria Porras 

Assistant Professor, J. Pruitt Department of Biomedical Engineering, University of Florida




Katharine McDuffie 

Program Director, Metcalf Institute
University of Rhode Island





Sunshine Menezes

Executive Director, Metcalf Institute
University of Rhode Island



Alex Moore


Alex Moore

Assistant Professor,
Departments of Forest & Conservation Sciences and BotanyUniversity of British Columbia




Mohamed Yakub

SciLine, American Association for the Advancement of Science




Sara K. Yeo

Associate Professor, Department of Communication, University of Utah



Daniel Aguirre and Stacey Baker organize and implement the Community Cohort experience.

We also appreciate the many contributions of:
Jana Cochran, URI Metcalf Institute
Jenny Cutraro, Science Storytellers*
Jayatri Das, The Franklin Institute*
Jeanne Garbarino, RockEDU Science Outreach*
Nina Gregory, URI Foundation & Alumni Engagement
Margaret Hayden, URI Metcalf Institute
Rose Hendricks, American Society for Cell Biology*
Clio Heslop, British Science Association*
Devin Jefferson, Institute for Sustainable Communities*
Faith Kearns, Arizona State University*
Amparo Leyman Pino, Yellow Cow Consulting*
Martha Merson, TERC*
Phoebe Neel, URI Metcalf Institute
Virginia Schutte, Real Life Science Media*
Jylana Sheats, The Aspen Institute*
Elaine Shen
Lisette Torres-Gerald, TERC*
Natasha Udu-gama, Thriving Earth Exchange*
Ben Wiehe, MIT Museum*
Latasha Wright, BioBus*
Qisi Yao, URI Nutrition and Food Sciences
Daniela Zarate, University of California Riverside*

*Proposal reviewers